Planning to Take the GMAT? Are You Aware of the GMAT Syllabus and the Eligibility Criteria? 


The Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT) is one of the major admission requirements for the majority of b-schools around the world. Hence, a good score in the GMAT exam not only helps you stand out, but also shows the business schools how prepared you are for the course. Hence, if you want to score well in the exam, it is imperative that you have a basic understanding of the GMAT Syllabus first. 

GMAT Exam Syllabus

The GMAT syllabus includes four sections:

1 . Analytical Writing Assessment – The AWA section of GMAT assesses your ability to think critically about a topic and convey your ideas clearly in an English Essay.

2 . Integrated Reasoning –  Integrated Reasoning consists of 12 questions that measures your skills to evaluate data presented in different formats such as tables, graphs and text. The questions are divided into four types:

  • Multi-Source Reasoning – The questions are presented in the form of text, tables, graphics or combinations of three. You have to analyze the data to decide whether it is relevant to answer the questions.
  • Graphics Interpretation – Each question presents data in different graphical representations such as scatter plot, x/y graph, statistical curve distribution, bar chart or pie chart. You have to interpret the data to answer the questions. 
  • Table Analysis – The questions are asked based on data given in tabular format. You must decide whether the provided information is sufficient to answer the questions.
  • Two-part Analysis – These questions could be asked as verbal, quantitative or a combination of both. Your ability to solve complex problems is measured here. 

3 . Quantitative Reasoning – The GMAT Quantitative section assesses your ability to analyze data, reason mathematically, and solve mathematical problems. The questions asked are of two types:

  • Problem-solving – These are multiple choice questions that assess your ability to solve mathematical problems using your analytical and logical reasoning skills. 
  • Data sufficiency – These questions measure your ability to evaluate a problem and recognize whether the given information is relevant to solve the problem.

4 . Verbal Reasoning – The questions in this section measure your ability to read, critically analyze and comprehend an argument or written passage. The question types in this section are:

  • Reading Comprehension – Your ability to read and comprehend the words and statements from a passage are measured here. 
  • Sentence Correction – The sentence correction questions checks whether you can identify the sentences that are grammatically and structurally correct. 
  • Critical Reasoning – Critical Reasoning questions test how well you create and examine arguments and prepare a plan of action. 

GMAT Eligibility

If you have decided to appear for the GMAT exam, you must know the GMAT Exam Eligibility criteria before beginning the application process. Here are some points that will help you check your eligibility for the exam. 

  • There is no nationality barrier, hence, nothing can prevent you from taking the GMAT exam. However you must produce a valid ID that proves your nationality.
  • The minimum age limit for taking the exam is 13. There’s no upper age limit.
  • There is no educational limit for taking the exam.
  • No minimum academic cutoff range is required for taking the exam. 
  • The maximum number of attempts you have for a 12-month period is five and for a lifetime is eight. 
  • Work experience is not needed to sit for the exam.

As a GMAT aspirant, you have to be well aware of the GMAT Syllabus and the eligibility criteria as well. Hence, this article acts as a quick guide before you start the application process.