How to get your marriage license across the USA
You may also purchase a certified copy of your Lane County marriage license in person at our office or by mail. After you visit our office to pay the required fees, sign your application, and receive your marriage license, there is a three day waiting period before you can marry. We strongly recommend that you bring your birth certificates to our office when you appear to sign and finalize your marriage application; state and federal agencies require that the information on your marriage license matches your birth certificate.
When applying for a marriage license, the following information is required for each person applying: To obtain a copy of a marriage license or a copy of the decree of dissolution of marriage visit the Court Clerk’s Office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. The marriage ceremony must be performed in Virginia within 60 days after the license is issued. For more information on your state’s marriage laws, be sure to visit www.usmarriagelaws.com
Texas law does allow certain exceptions to the requirement that both applicants appear before the County Clerk to apply for a marriage license. Completes a premarital education course described by Texas Family Code Section 2.013 and provides the County Clerk with a course completion certificate indicating completion of the course within one year of the date the marriage license application is filed with the Clerk. You will receive your marriage license on the same day you apply for the license and can be married on the same day if you have made arrangements with an officiator of your choice to perform the ceremony.
Relationship: A marriage cannot be contracted while either party has a husband or wife living; between persons who are closer in relationship than second cousins, whether parties to the marriage are half or whole blood, except that a marriage may be contracted between first cousins if the female has attained the age of 55 years, or if either party at the time of application for a marriage license submits an affidavit signed by a physician stating that either party is permanently sterile. After you have purchased your marriage license you must select an authorized officiate to perform the ceremony, and wait for the appropriate 72-hours before the ceremony takes place to get married; unless both parties have completed and obtained a Twogether in Texas premarital education class, or is a member of the armed forces of the United States and are on active duty. Forms of identification for each person: driver’s license, birth certificate or a passport (Applicants 17 and younger are required to call the License Department prior to applying.)
Only one of the parties needs to appear to apply for the marriage license (unless using a Non-Resident Marriage Application to marry outside of Somerset County, then both parties must appear). Complete the form in the presence of that official, have that official sign at the appropriate place, and mail the form with a money order or cashier’s check in the appropriate amount ($25.00 for a license from Somerset County), payable to Clerk of Court, to the Clerk of Circuit Court for the Maryland county in which you plan to be married. If neither party to be married is a resident of the county in which the ceremony will take place, Maryland law allows application for a marriage license to be made by mail as follows:
Marriage licenses are issued in the county clerk’s office in each county. To inquire about marriage or divorce certificates prior to June 1958, please call the county clerk in the county where the marriage license was issued or that granted the divorce decree. Certified marriage or divorce certificates can be ordered and the required fee paid by phone, mail, Internet or by visiting the office.
The person solemnizing the marriage shall complete the marriage license and forward it to the Clerk and Recorder’s office within sixty-three days (63) after solemnizing. Return your signed marriage license to the Clerk-Recorder’s Office within 10 business days of being married. Both you and your future spouse need to appear together in person at the Clerk-Recorder’s Office to apply for a marriage license.